A service by Swiss Post

Main section

“Digital signatures are finally becoming available to the masses”

Switzerland is now also allowing online identification, so personal identification on site is becoming a thing of the past. This means that documents can be signed immediately, as part of an entirely digital process and without any media discontinuity. The entire process is child’s play using the SwissID App.  
 
Tobias Bertschi, Online Onboarding Product Manager, explains the new identification process in an interview.

What exactly is new about this online identification? We’ve already had so-called video identification procedures, such as for opening a bank account.

Not all types of online identification are the same. In commonly used video identification procedures like those offered by banks today, you still need to arrange an appointment, because the verification is performed virtually by a real person. Also, this verification is only valid for the bank in question and cannot be used for all banks.

 

Online identification as a prerequisite for electronic signatures, like that offered by SwissSign, can be performed online at any time or location​​​​​​​, without needing to make an appointment. The procedure with SwissID Sign involves the person to be identified scanning a Swiss passport using the SwissID App and then taking a video selfie. This process only needs performing once before the first signature and, as opposed to common video identification, is valid and usable universally afterwards.

 

However, going back to the original question about what’s new: up to now, there has been no appropriately certified procedure to make this possible.  

Why is identification necessary anyway in order for me to be able to provide an electronic signature?

According to the Swiss Federal Act on Digital Signatures (Schweizer Signaturgesetz), a qualified digital signature is only legally valid, in other words equivalent to a handwritten signature, if it’s linked to a certified digital identity. This is precisely what SwissID offers. However, to acquire a certified digital identity, identification is required beforehand.

Can’t I simply scan my handwritten signature and paste it into a document?

A scanned signature is nothing more than a visual element. But it’s not equivalent to a handwritten signature and therefore has very little probative force in a court of law. This differs from a qualified electronic signature (QES), which corresponds to a handwritten signature pursuant to Art. 14 para. 2bis Swiss Code of Obligations (OR) and is linked to a digital certificate.

SwissID already offers online identification via its SwissID App. What is now different about this procedure?

The new online identification process is based on even stricter security standards. With the new procedure, the certificate in the passport is checked. This ensures that it’s an original document issued by the Swiss Confederation. Also, this new type of process is certified in accordance with the Swiss Federal Act on Digital Signatures. However, the handling of the identification is very similar in both the old and new procedures. The user is asked to have a passport ready and is then guided through the process step by step in the SwissID App.

The identity check is done online via the SwissID app using a video selfie and passport scan.

Digital signatures aren’t really anything new, but they still aren’t truly widespread. Why is that?

That’s exactly the point. The identification process up to now was complicated, because a physical verification of the person signing the document had to take place, i.e. “on site”. This takes up a lot of time and is costly, especially for companies. Online identification solves this problem. The identification can be performed independently on the person’s own smartphone, if there’s time to do so. We expect that digital signatures will be ready for the masses in the near future - just as it’s now customary to write an e-mail instead of a letter.

Who are digital signatures particularly suitable for?

Basically for everyone. But companies and public authorities in particular benefit from a massive gain in efficiency. Printing, sending, signing and re-scanning documents – all these are now things of the past. This makes the signature solution SwissID Sign particularly interesting for any business customers wanting to integrate a signature service into their existing processes and workflows. We’re convinced that the QES (editor's note: qualified electronic signature) is a crucial part of the puzzle for the digital transformation in companies.

So is this a business solution?

No, not exclusively, even though most signatures do take place in a business environment. For private individuals or even companies wishing to use the service without the integration effort, the web solution is a good choice. Documents can be uploaded easily to the web and sent to the recipients or to yourself. The signature is done via the SwissID App.

What was the last document you signed digitally?

A photographed drawing. It was just as an example though, to show how signing works. But who knows, maybe the drawing will increase in value? [laughs] In a business setting, the last signature was on a non-disclosure agreement.

Webinare

Wie Sie mit SwissID Sign Ihre Geschäftsprozesse digitalisieren.

Un service de la Poste Suisse

Section générale

«Les signatures numériques pourront enfin être utilisées par un grand nombre de personnes»

La Suisse autorise désormais l’identification en ligne. Cela signifie que l’identification en personne sur place n’est plus obligatoire. Les documents peuvent désormais être signés de manière entièrement numérique et sans aucune rupture de médias. Tout se fait très facilement avec la SwissID App

Tobias Bertschi, Product Manager Online Onboarding, explique les nouveautés dans le cadre de notre interview.

Qu’y a-t-il de neuf par rapport à l’identification en ligne? Il existait déjà des procédures d’identification vidéo, par exemple pour l’ouverture d’un compte bancaire.

Toutes les identifications en ligne ne se valent pas. Pour les identifications vidéo classiques, telles qu’elles sont proposées aujourd’hui par les banques par exemple, il est toujours nécessaire de fixer un rendez-vous, car la vérification est effectuée virtuellement par une personne réelle. De plus, cette vérification n’est valable que pour la banque en question et ne peut normalement pas être utilisée pour s’identifier auprès d’autres banques.  

 

L’identification en ligne telle que la propose SwissSign, condition préalable aux signatures électroniques, peut être effectuée en ligne 24 heures sur 24, quel que soit le lieu, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de prendre rendez-vous. La procédure de SwissID Sign est la suivante: la personne qui souhaite s’identifier scanne son passeport suisse à l’aide de la SwissID App et enregistre ensuite un selfie vidéo. Ce processus doit être effectué une seule fois avant la première signature et, contrairement à l’identification vidéo classique, l’identification ainsi réalisée sera valable et utilisable dans un contexte plus large. 

 

Mais pour en revenir à la question initiale, la nouveauté est qu’il manquait jusqu’à présent une procédure certifiée pour permettre l’identification effectuée entièrement en ligne.  

Pourquoi une identification est-elle nécessaire pour que je puisse apposer une signature électronique?

Selon la Loi suisse sur la signature électronique (SCSE), une signature numérique qualifiée n’est juridiquement valable et équivalente à la signature manuscrite, que si elle est liée à une identité numérique certifiée. Cette identité est précisément ce que propose SwissID. Mais pour l’obtenir, il faut au préalable s’identifier.

Je pourrais aussi simplement scanner ma signature manuscrite et l’insérer dans un document?

La signature scannée est un élément purement visuel. Elle n’est toutefois pas équivalente à une signature manuscrite et elle a une valeur probante très faible devant les tribunaux. Les choses sont différentes pour la signature électronique qualifiée (SEQ), qui est équivalente à la signature manuscrite selon l’art. 14 al. 2bis CO, et qui est liée à un certificat numérique.

SwissID propose aujourd’hui déjà une identification en ligne via la SwissID App. En quoi la nouvelle procédure est-elle différente?

Le nouveau processus d’identification en ligne utilise des normes de sécurité encore plus élevées. La nouvelle procédure vérifie le certificat du passeport. Il est ainsi garanti que le document est bien un document original émis par la Confédération helvétique. Sans oublier que le nouveau processus sous cette forme est certifié conformément à la Loi suisse sur la signature électronique (SCSE). La gestion de l’identification est toutefois très similaire pour l’ancienne procédure et pour la nouvelle. L’utilisateur est invité à se munir de son passeport et il est ensuite accompagné pas à pas dans le processus au sein de la SwissID App. 

La vérification de l’identité se fait en ligne via l’application SwissID au moyen d’un selfie vidéo et d’un scan du passeport.

Les signatures numériques existent depuis un moment, et pourtant, elles ne sont pas encore très répandues. Pourquoi

C’est là toute la question. Jusqu’à présent, le processus d’identification était compliqué, car il fallait procéder à une vérification physique de la personne signataire, c’est-à-dire «sur place». Cela demandait beaucoup d’effort et était particulièrement coûteux pour les entreprises. L’identification en ligne résout ce problème. L’identification peut désormais être effectuée de manière autonome sur le smartphone du signataire à tout moment. Nous pensons que les signatures numériques se généraliseront dans un avenir proche, tout comme il est aujourd’hui normal d’écrire un e-mail plutôt qu’une lettre.

Quelle est la principale cible des signatures numériques?

D’une manière générale... tout le monde. Surtout les entreprises et les administrations, qui gagnent fortement en efficacité. L’impression, l’envoi, la signature et la numérisation (scan) des documents appartiennent désormais au passé. La solution de signature SwissID Sign est donc aussi particulièrement intéressante pour les clients professionnels qui souhaitent intégrer un service de signature dans leurs processus existants. Nous sommes convaincus que la SEQ (signature électronique qualifiée) est une pièce essentielle du puzzle de la transformation numérique des entreprises.

Il s’agit donc d’une solution destinée aux clients professionnels?

Oui, mais pas seulement; même si la plupart des signatures ont lieu dans un contexte commercial, la solution Web est adaptée aux particuliers et aux entreprises qui souhaitent utiliser le service sans effort d’intégration. Les documents peuvent être facilement téléchargés sur le Web et envoyés aux destinataires ou à soi-même. La signature est effectuée via la SwissID App.

Quel est le dernier document que vous avez signé numériquement?

Un dessin que j’ai pris en photo. Mais seulement à titre d’exemple, pour montrer comment fonctionne la signature. Enfin qui sait, peut-être que le dessin prendra de la valeur (rires). Ma dernière signature électronique dans un contexte commercial était sous un accord de confidentialité.

Webinaires

Numérisez votre business avec SwissID Sign.